---
article_id: KB0392471
article_type: FAQ
component_ids:
  - BNS-ARI-CM
  - BNS-ARI-INV
  - BNS-ARI-PUR
  - BNS-ARI-SC
  - BNS-ARI-SIPM
  - BNS-ARI-SS
  - BNS-ARI-SV
component_descriptions:
  - Catalog Management
  - Invoicing
  - Purchasing
  - Spend Visibility
  - Strategic Contracts
  - Strategic Sourcing
  - Supplier Information & Performance Management
products:
  - SAP Ariba Procurement, cloud edition
  - SAP Ariba Sourcing, cloud edition
personas:
  - Supplier
language: en
created: 2008-12-30
updated: 2022-04-02
source: Knowledge Base
url: https://support.ariba.com/item/view/KB0392471
connect_url: https://support.ariba.com/item/view/KB0392471?min=1
sap_for_me_url: https://me.sap.com/notes/KB0392471
---

# How long will my session remain active before it fails with a time-out error?

## Resolution

**Question**

How long will my session remain active before it ends with a time-out error?

**Answer**

To comply with industry standards for session time-outs and to address security concerns, Ariba solutions time out after 30 minutes.

If you close your browser window, the session on the server times out after 30 minutes. If you leave the browser window open and inactive for 30 minutes, a message is displayed indicating a session time-out will occur. If there are any long running operations in progress and you see a progress bar (including data downloads and uploads), the session will not time out. The same applies for auctions in open status. Given that auctions have an automatic refresh rate, every few seconds, the browser screen connects to the Ariba server automatically. Therefore, if you are on a browser screen viewing an open auction, you will not experience the inactivity warning.

**Additional Information**

Following 30 minutes of inactivity, a pop-up window displays to indicate that the session is ending with the time-out error, "You are about to be logged out due to inactivity. To continue using the application, press **Cancel Logout**." At that time, a user can choose to cancel this log out action or let the system log them out automatically after one minute, at which point, the message "Your connection has expired due to a long period of inactivity. You must login again" will be displayed to the user.  
  
This setting is configured as a system-wide parameter and cannot be customized on individual customer sites.
